Home  |  Library Index  | Buddhist Dictionary Index

Table II: Mental Constructions (sankhara khandha)

Mental constructions are of 50 kinds (cetasika), namely:(*1)

11 Common (aññasamāna)(*2):

A: 5 universals (sabbacitta) (in every consciousness):

  1. Contact (phassa)
  2. Intention (cetanā)
  3. Vitality (mental) (jīvita)
  4. One-pointedness (samādhi)
  5. Attention (manasikāra)

B: 6 particulars (pakinnakā) (not in every consciousness):

  1. Directed thought (vitakka)
  2. Sustained thinking (vicāra)
  3. Determination (adhimokkha)
  4. Energy (viriya)
  5. Joy (pīti)
  6. Desire (chanda)

25 Lofty, good, beautiful (sobhana):

A: primary (in every lofty consciousness)

  1. Confidence (saddhā)
  2. Mindfulness (sati)
  3. Moral shame (hiri)
  4. Fear of Wrongdoing (ottappa)
  5. Generous (alobha)
  6. Hatelessness (adosa)
  7. Equanimity (tatramajjhattatā)
  8. Tranquillity of mental properties (kāya-passaddhi)
  9. Tranquillity of consciousness (citta-passaddhi)
  10. Agility or lightness of mental properties (kāya-lahutā)
  11. Agility or lightness of consciousness (citta-lahutā)
  12. Elasticity of mental properties (kāya-mudutā)
  13. Elasticity of consciousness (citta-mudutā)
  14. Adaptability of mental properties (kāya-kammaññatā)
  15. Adaptability of consciousness (citta-kammaññatā)
  16. Proficiency of mental properties (kāya-pāguññatā)
  17. Proficiency of consciousness (citta-pāguññatā)
  18. Uprightness of mental properties (kāya’ujukatā)
  19. Uprightness of consciousness (citta’ujukatā)

B: 6 secondary

3 Avoidances (viratiyo):(*3)

  1. Right bodily action (sammākammanto)
  2. Right speech (sammāvācā)
  3. Right livelihood (samma-ājīvo)

2 Boundless states (appamaññā):

  1. Pity (karunā)
  2. Altruistic joy (muditā)

1 Ability of understanding (paññindriya):

  1. Non-Confusion (amoha)

         = understanding (paññā)


14 Disadvantageous (akusala):

A: 4 primary (in every disadvantageous consciousness)

  1. Confusion (moha)
  2. Lack of moral shame (ahirika)
  3. Lack of Fear of Wrongdoing (anottappa)
  4. Restlessness (uddhacca)

B: 10 secondary (not in every disadvantageous consciousness)

4 Hate rooted:

  1. Hatred (dosa)
  2. Envy (issā)
  3. Stinginess (macchariya)
  4. Regret (kukkucca)


  1. Greed (lobha)
  2. View (wrong) (ditthi)
  3. Conceit, pride (māna)
  4. Lethargy (thīna)
  5. Laziness (middha)
  6. Sceptical Doubt (vicikicchā)
(*1) The given sequence is based on the Abhidhammattha-Sangaha.

(*2) The moral quality of this 11 mental states depends whether they arise with a advantageous, disadvantageous or neutral consciousness.

(*3) The 3 abstinences and 2 boundless states, also envy, stinginess, worry, pride, lethargy and Laziness, are considered as  'inconstant' (aniyata),  which means that they occur with the accompanied consciousness only occasionally and than only one at the time.