Home  |  Drops 3 Index

Drop of Dhamma Delight!


What are the Characteristics of the 5 Abilities?

The Blessed Buddha once said:
Bhikkhus, there are these 5 mental abilities (indriya). What five?

The ability of Faith (saddhā)
The ability of Energy (viriya)
The ability of Awareness (sati)
The ability of Concentration (samādhi)
The ability of Understanding (pañña)

And what, Bhikkhus, is the Faith ability?
It is when the Noble Disciple is convinced by the reality of the unexcelled
enlightenment of the Tathagata thus: The Blessed One is indeed an Arahat,
perfectly self-enlightened, consummated in knowledge and behaviour, well
transcended, knower of all worlds, unsurpassable trainer of those who can
be tamed, teacher and guide both of devas and as well of humans, the self
Enlightened Buddha, the all Blessed One... This is called the Faith ability!

And what, Bhikkhus, is the Energy ability?
It is when Disciple lives while enthusiastically eliminating any detrimental
mental state, and while gradually achieving any advantageous mental states.
In this he is strong, determined, not shirking any good opportunity to cultivate
advantageous mental states... This is called the Energy ability!

And what, Bhikkhus, is the Awareness ability?

It is when the Noble Disciple is aware by possessing both acute awareness
of the present, and also memory of any past. He is one who remembers and
recollects both what was actually done, and also what was said very long ago.
This is called the ability of Awareness...

And what, Bhikkhus, is the Concentration ability?
It is when the Noble Disciple gains concentrated absorption into the object,
having made release the object. This is indeed called the Concentration ability...

And what, Bhikkhus, is the Understanding ability?
It is when the Noble Disciple is intelligent by possessing understanding of
the continual arising and passing away, which is Noble and cutting through,
leading to the complete destruction of both Craving and thus Suffering.
This is indeed called the Understanding ability...

These fine five qualities, Bhikkhus and Friends, are the 5 mental abilities!

On These Five Mental Abilities (indriya) see:



Source of reference (edited extract):
The Grouped Sayings of the Buddha. Samyutta Nikāya.
Book [V: 197] 48 The Mental Abilities (Indriya): 9 Analysis..

Ability Analysis..

Back Home Index Next